Roasted Summer Squash

I went to a potluck Thursday night hosted by Rip Esselstyn, the author of the Engine 2 Diet.

photo of the cover of "the engine 2 Diet"

There were about 75 people there and almost that many delicious potluck dishes. I was nervous about going to the event because I knew that other culinary school students/graduates would be there and I wasn’t sure what to cook.

I had the idea of cooking asparagus, but when I looked it over at the store, it didn’t seem as fresh and vibrant as I wanted. I wanted something fresh and local so that the food would have it’s optimal flavor. I decided on summer squash grown here in Central Texas. Here are the results.

20111001-201756.jpg

20111001-201810.jpg

20111001-201818.jpg

I cooked the squash in slivers with lots of fresh, sliced garlic and a tablespoon of herbes de Provence, which is a blend of rosemary, thyme, and other dried herbs.

20111001-201824.jpg

I also hit the farmer’s market today and picked up

  • Something called “breakfast radishes”
  • Basil
  • Swiss chard
  • Zucchini
  • Eggplant
  • Okra

What to do with the okra?

20111001-201831.jpg

Leave a Reply

