Inspirational Quote and Reflection

Seek, therefore, not to find out who you are,

Seek to determine who you want to be

- Neale Donald Walsch, Conversations with God

I like this quote because it says two things

  1. It’s important to actively seek out “you”
  2. YOU get to determine what you become. There is no such thing as a pre-defined “you”. YOU define that. And it can change over time.

 

20111001-231023.jpg

Another thing Walsch says is that we make decisions based on either love or fear. This really struck me because I have been struggling a bit with my decision to pursue a career in food and health. I’m struggling at times because

  1. The career path is unclear.
  2. The career path – whatever it becomes – will be nearly 100% new to me.
  3. The career path likely leads to changes in my life (schedule, income level/stability, etc.).
  4. Leaving my current job means I leave my employer in a difficult place with a major, long-range project.

 

Those are the fear-based concerns that push me away from career change. The voices in my head (and anticipated voices from people who either mean well or who mean to judge me for the decision) can be discouraging. But I am soldiering on because of these love-based reasons

  1. I want to have my career align with my personal values and personality
  2. I want to pursue a career of my own making, not continue to do what’s convenient because I’ve always done it

 

All that being said, I think it’s time for me to take the final step and notify my employer of my decision to leave. I’ll be giving 4.5 months notice, which is fair given the circumstances, I think.

Tighten your seatbelts because it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

20111001-231030.jpg

Leave a Reply

