M is for Mochi (Asian Style)

I had some mochi in the fridge I’ve been wanting to use, so I baked some up for a Sunday morning treat. What is mochi? It’s made from rice that’s pounded into a paste. It makes for a somewhat sticky, chewy substance. I haven’t had much exposure to it (I think I’ll work with it more in cooking school), but here’s what I’ve been doing with it.

20111106-093123.jpg

First you cut the above plank into one-inch squares, which you bake for about 10 minutes. The plank is very hard and it takes a lot of pressure to push the knife through.

20111106-093131.jpg

Above: The squares come out looking like tiny rice popovers (see below).

20111106-093138.jpg

Above: To make the bites a little nicer looking, I trim off the edges so that they are more like uniform squares (see below).

20111106-093152.jpg

Above: I started with a base of toasted sesame oil and ume plum vinegar. I could say more about those delicious ingredients another time, but for now let’s say they impart a very nice Asian-influenced flavor. I topped each square with small carrot matchsticks and a leaf of cilantro. Don’t you just love the tiny plate? I got it from Ace Mart Restaurant Supply.

20111106-093158.jpg

Above: I finally found a reason to get out my Korean chopsticks, acquired from travel from years ago.

20111106-093206.jpg

Above: I tried slicing the mochi open, making a sort-of mochi hoagie bun into which I inserted carrot, cilantro and a spot of sriracha sauce. The sriracha was a bit too strong, but I like the concept. Note the bandage from a minor knife mishap yesterday while slicing carrot for another meal.

Mochi is definitely fun. I like the bite-size quality of it because you can be playful and try different approaches to flavor. I think I’ll try a dessert-y approach next time.

One thought on “M is for Mochi (Asian Style)

  1. Pingback: I Love You Very Mochi « bondotmom

Leave a Reply

