Healthy Cooking Class

I conducted a cooking class for some friends last week – my first class ever. I was very excited and had a great time. We cooked a quinoa salad and Thai spring rolls with a peanut sauce and I showed them some steel cut oats, as well. I also brought some raw almond-flax muffins with a lemon-blackberry icing.

This is something I would never have done had I not started culinary school, so it was kind of a milestone in my career journey. I really had a lot of fun and felt fairly comfortable. I wish I could have had my ingredients a bit more prepared, but otherwise it went very well and everyone seemed to learn and enjoy the presentation.

Below: Making spring rolls with lots of greens, herbs, and vegetables. Here I am dipping a rice paper wrapper in hot water to soften it for the rolling process.

20120515-094113.jpg

I learned a lot from the experience and had a lot of fun. I’m hoping to have a video clip or two of the session that I might be able to share. Stay tuned!

Below: A full plate of everything that I brought and/or demonstrated.

20120515-094128.jpg

One thought on “Healthy Cooking Class

Leave a Reply

