Ayurvedic Cooking

Time to cook Ayurvedic stuff!

I loved macrobiotics – the theory made sense to me and the food was very grounding. But at times I found myself craving some pungent spices and heat. Garlic, cinnamon, chiles, and sweet fruits are not things you get in large quantities in macrobiotics.

Ayurveda, on the other hand, comes from India, where spicy foods rule (or so I’m told). Depending on your dosha, you may be encouraged to pump up the salty, sour, pungent and sweet.

20120701-105022.jpg

One of my first tasks in our Ayurvedic cooking labs was to make a chutney from cilantro, chiles, salt and coconut. Yes! Yes! Yes!

Chutney is a salty, sweet, spicy condiment. Kind of like a jam or a sauce – it can be sweet or savory. More on chutneys in a later post…

Below: Blending up a chutney.

20120701-105046.jpg

20120701-105116.jpg

Below: Fresh chapati from whole wheat flour.

20120701-105158.jpg

Below: I’m gonna be honest, I don’t remember what this was, but it looks very delicious! I think it’s paneer (a fresh cheese) with capers, onions and tomatoes. Let the salivation begin…

20120701-105249.jpg

Below: A spicy, savory plate of Indian-inspired food. Dal, channha, cilantro chutney, and black-eyed beans. Soooo good! The spices were warm, layered, and satisfying. Just the right amount of oil provided a bit of sweetness and creaminess. And the beans were cooked to tender perfection. Often meat-free and always colorful, Indian foods rank as one of my top cuisines.

20120701-105310.jpg

Below: A cool watermelon salad with mint, possibly some cilantro, and black sea salt. I think I see a chile seed in there, too. Killer!

20120701-105338.jpg

20120701-105411.jpg

Below: Okra doesn’t have to be fried to be amazing. Here it is dusted with spices to form a crust.

20120701-105455.jpg

One thought on “Ayurvedic Cooking

  1. Pingback: Indian Stuffed Okra | diet is correct

Leave a Reply

