Indian Stuffed Okra

I love the okra. My mom used to cook fried okra and it was so good, but I don’t eat it much any more. I learned from my friend Todd about stuffed okra – an Indian dish that calls for stuffing okra with a mix of intense spices. We cooked it once during one of our Thursday night regular cooking sessions and it was an instant favorite.

Below: Start with fresh organic okra. Preferably from Texas, if you happen to be a Lone Star stater like me. 🙂

20120710-194801.jpg

You make a slit down the side of each okra. Your goal for making this cut is to create a pocket inside the okra into which you can stuff a half teaspoon or so of powder. To make my mix, I used 2 tsp mango powder, and one tsp each of chili powder, cumin, and turmeric. Next, you toss the okra in the leftover spices and saute them with some chopped tomato in a hot pan. I sauteed them in some ghee, which is clarified butter. (I can handle ghee since the proteins have been removed.)

20120710-194755.jpg

Now, after a super hot meal (I also added some whole dried chiles), I needed something to cool me off. Luckily I had some NadaMoo! in the freezer. Ahh…

20120710-194806.jpg

5 thoughts on “Indian Stuffed Okra

  1. The more I learn about okra, the more I realize it’s truly an international food. It was supposedly brought to the southern U.S. by West African slaves, and quickly assimilated into Cajun and traditional southern cooking. Even though western Africa is literally a continent away from India, those folks picked it up, too. Lowly okra – who knew?

  2. Pingback: Recipe and Cooking Techniques: Sauteed Tomatoes, Sausages, and Okra « Planting The Seeds

  3. Pingback: Okra – Superfood Superstar | The Garden Diaries

  4. Pingback: Ode to Okra, part 1 – Cornmeal Crusted Okra « Andrea's Garden Cooking

Leave a Reply

